April Concert 


Join us for the season finale!

Sunday April 21st, 4:30pm

Monday April 22nd, 7pm                            

FREE Community Concert: Tuesday April 23, noon at University Presbyterian Church                                                                            


Serenade, Op. 12 for two violins and viola  - Zoltán Kodály

Overture on Hebrew Themes, Op. 34 for clarinet, string quartet and piano   - Serge Prokofiev

Souvenir de Robert, Premier, for viola, cello and piano   - Kathryn Mishell

Souvenir de Florence, Op. 70 for String Sextet   - Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky 

The final concert of our 29th season will celebrate our founder Robert Rudié’s centennial. This glorious concert of chamber music will be an expression of Robert’s vision and of his beautiful playing.   
We will celebrate Robert Rudié’s Centennial by reprising Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence, Op.70 for String Sextet, with the same performers he played it with on a Salon Concert in 2007. We are delighted to have Sandy Yamamoto taking the first violin part that he played at that concert. 

Get to know the Tchaikovsky here........

Opening the program will be Kodály’s delightful Serenade for two violins and viola. From the exuberant folk melodies of the first movement to the melancholy explorations of emotions in the second to the joyful energy of the third, this beautiful work will become a new favorite of yours.

Get to know the Kodály here.......

Prokofiev’s Overture on a Hebrew Theme will feature Stephen Girko playing clarinet joined by string quartet and piano. This little gem of a piece is something you may find yourself humming on the way home from the evening.
Souvenir de Robert is a new trio for viola, cello and piano I have just composed. In it, my original music is interwoven with snippets of internationally broadcast recordings from the 1950s of Robert playing the concertos of Barber, Prokofiev, Vieuxtemps and Resphigi, as well as a Bach solo sonata. His music-making will join mine in filling the space you and I and my fellow players share together in the intimate setting of a beautiful home.

After the music, we'll offer you a delicious buffet with fine wines. You'll have a chance to mingle with the musicians, the hosts of the charming house where the concert takes place, and your fellow music lovers. Please join us!

Concerts held in the intimate setting of a beautiful home in Westlake, directions will be emailed to ticket holders. Tickets includes wine and hors d'oeuvres. Wine served starting 30 minutes before the concert. You'll have a chance to mingle with the artists afterward while the music is still in the air. 


Sandy Yamamoto, violin

Elise Winters, violin

Bruce Williams, viola

Martha Carapetyan, viola

Douglas Harvey, cello

Sara Nelson, cello 

Stephen Girko, clarinet 

Kathryn Mishell, piano, composer