February Concert 



Sunday February 3rd, 4:30pm                                                                                Monday February 4th, 7pm                            

FREE Lunch-hour Concert: Tuesday February 5th, noon at University Presbyterian Church

In February, Mozart’s beautiful Sinfonia Concertante will be revealed in a new manifestation with violinist Sean Riley playing his uniquely beautiful-sounding 2018 3-D printed six-string plastic violin from Austin(!), along with Austin Symphony Orchestra principal violist Bruce Williams playing his 1680 Brothers Grancino viola from Milan. They will be accompanied by Kathryn’s new arrangement of the orchestral score for piano and cello.

Sean will also play the piece for which his violin was originally conceived, John Adams’ Dharma at Big Sur.

The Thalea String Quartet—the vibrant young professionals who have come to Austin to work with the Miró Quartet—will be joined by Douglas Harvey to play Schubert’s magnificent two-cello Quintet in C Major, Op.163, referred to by many as the most beautiful piece of chamber music ever written.


Sinfonia concertante in E flat major - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Dharma at Big Sur for six-string electric violin and orchestra. - John Adams

Quintet in C Major, Op. 163, D. 956  - Franz Schubert 


The Thalea String Quartet

Sean Riley, six string electric violin

Bruce Williams, viola

Douglas Harvey, cello

Kathryn Mishell, piano